Why I registered to vote in the Labour Leadership election

I just received an email from Yvette Cooper for some reason and in the email it asked me to click a link to say why I paid the £3 to become a registered supporter to be able to vote in the Labour Leadership election. I was just going to write ‘To vote for Jeremy Corbyn’, but then this (below) just spilled out, it was all off the top of my head and took less than 5 minutes, anyway I thought I’d share it and ask those that read this – 

Why did you register to be able to vote? 

What would you like to see from the Labour Party? 

What else would you add to what I wrote? Is there anything you disagree with? Is there anything you’d change?

Here’s what I wrote – 

To support Jeremy Corbyn to return Labour back to its roots, back to an actual opposition/alternative rather than a pale imitation of the Tories. To ensure Labour challenges government and mainstream media propaganda and lies, to ensure the most vulnerable in society are protected. To ensure Labour challenges government and mainstream media lies on ‘workshy, scrounging welfare dependents’. To fight for a system that benefits ALL rather than a system that benefits the few by exploiting the many. To fight to stop the 10’s of 1000’s of deaths every year caused by fuel poverty and by welfare cuts, cuts that have hit the most vulnerable in society 19 times harder than anyone else, cuts that are directly responsible for the deaths of societies most vulnerable, deaths that society can no longer ignore. To put those responsible for the deaths of societies most vulnerable on trial, the likes of Ian Duncan Smith and George Osborne. To stop the £120 billion a year lost to tax evasion/avoidance. To stop trident. To save the NHS, social housing and the planet! To stop fossil fuel subsidies to private profit making companies that are destroying our planet and to instead invest in renewable energy. To embark on a mass building of social housing, ‘on-cost’ housing and genuinely affordable housing. To put an end to economically inept austerity and instead invest in infrastructure, in training, in skills, in technology, in people. To reach 100% employment. To provide a Living Wage for those unfit to work. To abolish workfare and reform the DWP into an organisation that helps and supports rather than tricks and abuses. To change our engineered judgemental individualistic culture to a culture of togetherness, empathy, understanding and collectivism. To push for a proper Basic Income that will end poverty and destitution once and for all. To rebuild our trade unions, our right to protest. To change our education system into one that promotes critical thinking rather than obedient workers cajoled into accepting their place in our current hierarchical system. To abolish tuition fees and support students from all backgrounds. To renationalise water, rail, energy, mail, prisons and probation services. To treat drugs as a health issue not a legal issue. To raise awareness of the many various physical and mental health issues and disabilities. To ensure those with health issues/disabilities have the opportunity to work and have choice and dignity in their life. To support victims of domestic abuse/violence. To ensure children are protected and that the victims of abuse get some form of justice. To be a world leader in reshaping our military so as to stop it from being a weapon of the ruling elite, destroying and ending lives all over the world. To change our regressive tax system, possibly with the introduction of Land Value Tax – or at the very least for an LVT/our tax system to be debated and then changed. For attitudes towards tax to change from it being a burden to being part of a civilised society. To fight for and promote equality, to fight for LGBT rights. To completely overhaul our media to stop it from being a tool of oppression for the wealthy elite. To introduce the teaching of politics, basic economics, social issues and similar within schools. To make sure that banks are regulated, to debate the possibility of nationalising banks and to ensure they work for the ‘real’ economy rather than for their own selfish interests. To involve an informed, un-manipulated public in decision making. To put an end to neoliberal free market corporate capitalism. To bring truth back to political discourse. To fight for what is ultimately right, fair and just.

Thanks for reading, I look forward to reading your comments.

Please share on Twitter and Facebook. 

Follow me on Twitter – @PoliticalSift
Thanks!

9 thoughts on “Why I registered to vote in the Labour Leadership election

  1. I agree, what more can I add to that really.

    I gave up on Labour and only joined due to Corbyn standing as leader.
    I’m left of centre and that is IMO where Labour should be, representing those that aren’t represented – or feel they aren’t represented. The party went too far to the right and it takes a person like Corbyn to bring it back. The man is by no means perfect, but he sticks to his beliefs and acts appropriately, I respect that.
    You do need some flexibility in politics, of couse you do, but you must stand firm to your principles too, else I for one will not vote for you, it would be a wasted vote.

    A great blog and thank you for writing it.
    Gary

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Reblogged this on Britain Isn't Eating and commented:
    A great response to Yvette’s email, and one that I wholeheartedly agree with.
    I wonder if she, or one of her SPAD’s on her behalf, has the bottle to reply to your comments or decide its just too much of can of worms to get into.
    Shared on my blog, thanks a lot mate.

    Like

  3. This is bloody great! I’m really sorry I clicked that “Stop recieving emails from Yvette for Labour” link now, lol. I could have given them a piece of my mind, but I’ll settle for yours – you said everything there that all of us are thinking. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I joined the Labour party in July in order to participate in this leadership election. It’s the first time I’ve joined a political party. I did so for the very same reasons you’ve enumerated above. I don’t believe any politician is perfect, but at least with Corbyn I KNOW where he’s coming from, what his ideology is and what kind of an opposition leader he’s going to be. Honestly, I will NEVER forgive the 148 Labour MPs who didn’t vote against the July Welfare bill. I think it showed just how unwilling to represent their electorate they are. I’m voting for Corbyn because he’s the ONE leadership candidate who showed any leadership, who faithfully represented the people who voted for him and who showed that ethics matters more than strategy.

    Even if I do not wholeheartedly agree with all his ideas, I trust him not to be a spineless worm. We’ve got 5 dark years of Conservative government ahead of us, and we need someone who has the passion to offer a robust, energetic opposition to the government in power.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. At 54 years of age I finally got my hands dirty (Sartre said clean hands equated with not being in any political party). The odium surrounding J.C from the Blairites pushed me to pay £1 ex serviceman’s membership. That said we now hear that those who are not “true” Labour (bizarre phrase) will be barred. How do we not know this blogge is a ruse to flush out Corbynites? I ticked off all Jeremy’s policies save immigration, Blair really dumped on what is left of the white working class. I’d love to know who J.C endorses as Deputy if anyone?

    Like

  6. I got two from Andy Burnham asking the very same question, So answered his question very much the same way you did but a shorter version.
    The 2nd one was why I was not voting for him, so I told him that for someone who abstained voting on welfare bill which is such an important issue for many sick,disabled,vulnerable & Jobless,in fear of rocking the Labour Party boat does not deserve my vote as he is ignoring what the voters want. It is high time the Labour party woke up and smelled the coffee and listen to what the public are saying.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

