My Life on Camera: A unique look into the world through the eyes of a person with Autism 

The following was written by Sib | @Film2240

  

I’m a professional filmmaker with autism. I’m also a full-time equality and disability rights campaigner who is passionate about making the world a better place for everyone. I am currently running a crowdfunding campaign and was wondering if you, the reader, could help me spread the word and help with my project.

For as long as I can remember, I’ve always had a powerful story to tell about my life and after a year of planning and developing ideas, I came up with the idea for ‘My Life On Camera‘ – a unique look into the world through the eyes of a creative person with autism. As well as making my voice heard, I hope to inspire other people to make positive social changes worldwide.

  

I have produced many successful short films over the course of the last decade. One of my most talked about projects was ‘Sea of Change‘, which raised awareness of issues that blind and disabled road users faced as a result of shared space road schemes being rolled out worldwide. The film has since been screened at the House of Lords in front of an audience consisting of politicians, academics and the media.  

Since the House of Lords screening the film has been accepted in Vienna, and more recently at Chicago Film Festival. You can see the trailer for the Sea of Change project here.

  

Please support my project, My Life on Camera:

So I can help to raise awareness of autism. 

So I can help to raise awareness of the discrimination people with autism experience. 

So I can have my voice, and the collective voice of all those with autism, heard.

So I can show people what I, an individual with autism, can achieve without discrimination and when a lack of understanding, a lack of support, a lack of tolerance, isn’t holding me back.

The film will be a journey where I hope too:

• Document my current situation in terms of autism, how tough life is and the many and various challenges of living with autism brings, from a personal perspective of what it’s like to have autism and from how the lack of awareness and understanding, and how discrimination in various aspects of life, such as with employment, affects my life and the lives of those with autism.

• Speak to politicians, media and employers to try and change things for the better for people with autism. To follow me while I meet other campaigners and groups to ultimately meet with relevant MP’s and organisations to look at changing employment policy, legislation and law for the benefit of those with autism. 

•To get to the bottom of why there are so few people with autism in employment. The film will also document my journey of realising my dream of becoming a journalist and/or TV presenter.

• With this film I hope to inspire people with autism, I hope to change things to break down barriers, increase awareness and understanding, to increase the level of support to make it possible for people with autism to pursue and fulfil their dreams and goals.

• This film will follow my journey from start to finish, and with the release of it help to achieve a huge and worthwhile goal of mine – for a worldwide revolution for autism awareness, acceptance and equality of opportunity.

• This film will follow me as I try to meet new people and make a lot of new friends to pave the way for other people with autism to help with loneliness.

• Supporting me on this project, this journey of mine on film will help me fulfil other goals relating to other forms of discrimination, inequality and injustices in connection to improving the world for the better.

  

By contributing to this project you will be supporting a film with a unique perspective of the world as I see it. I am a person with autism and would really like to show the wider world what is possible with autism. This will transform the world for the better through increased awareness of social issues, so you the contributor are also making a great positive impact on the world around you.

  

Please follow this link to my indiegogo campaign – https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/my-life-on-camera#/

Thank you for reading.

I would also like to say a big thank you in advance for any contribution you can make to this project.

We can end discrimination together. 

Yours sincerely,

Sib | @Film2240
  

8 thoughts on “My Life on Camera: A unique look into the world through the eyes of a person with Autism 

    1. Thanks! I’ll inform Sib (the author of this post and guy trying to create the film) of your comment and re-blog through Twitter, his Twitter handle is @Film2240 if you’re on Twitter and want to follow and/or talk to him about it. If you prefer Facebook I can ask him for his Facebook details if you’d like?

      Thanks for supporting Sib in this, it’s such a worthwhile project but he is struggling (see his indiegogo campaign linked in the post) to raise the funds necessary so he needs all the help he can get! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  1. This is a great post,a fantastic achievement on probably the best and most thorough ranging blog I’ve read. It’s clean, clear, thorough, thoughtful humane and genuine. Really brilliant, thank you politicalsift and Sib!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Just to let you know that despite the lack of funding I’m going to start shooting a selection of scenes for the film in the new year as it’s clear to me that I can’t expect goodwill gestures from my previous contacts to make this film happen.

    I also hope that people will believe in the films goals to raise awareness of living with autism as this is my main goal as I’ve had enough of employers refusing to hire me due to autism for over 3 years. All people need is for every person in society to give them the same opportunity to succeed in all areas of life.

    I will setup another initiative later to allow interested people to donate to the film soon as I find crowdfunding sites too complex to use due to inaccessibility to disabled users like me.

    Follow me on Twitter @Film2240 and my films dedicated twitter feed @FMylifeoncamera to keep up with news of further developments.

    Like

Leave a Reply

